Serving Fresno, Madera, Kings and Tulare Counties California
The official website of

Sequoia Council
Boy Scouts of America

Home >> Council Calendar      Download the 2017-2018 Planning Guide

As of June 22, 2016 All Online Transactions will incur a 3% Convenience Fee

Serving Fresno, Madera, Kings and Tulare Counties California
The official website of

Sequoia Council
Boy Scouts of America

Home >> Council Calendar      Download the 2017-2018 Planning Guide

As of June 22, 2016 All Online Transactions will incur a 3% Convenience Fee

 

Boy Scouts of America’s adult leader training program is a seamless training experience that helps leaders easily graduate through the courses quickly and with little duplication. It begins with Youth Protection Training and is followed by leader specific training for each adult’s current registered role. Details about what is required for an adult to be eligible to wear the “Trained” emblem are illustrated in What Makes a Trained Leader on page 51.

We have a variety of different training dates for you to attend. This year, we will be holding “free” basic trainings for volunteers monthly at both of our Scout Offices. The trainings will be held the first Thursday of every month at the Visalia Scout Office, and the second Wednesday of every month at the Fresno Scout Office. The sessions begin at 6:30 pm and generally end by 8:30 pm.  Contact your local scout office to see which trainings are being offered in the upcoming months.

One of the key factors in building a strong Scouting Unit is quality training. It is through training that Scout Leaders understand their specific responsibilities, learn from experienced Leaders, and gain motivation to continue.

Monthly Trainings Available!
Dates Fresno Scout Office Dates Visalia Scout Office
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 6:30 PM Thursday, June 1, 2017 6:30 PM
Wednesday, July 12, 2017 6:30 PM Thursday, July 6, 2017 6:30 PM
Wednesday, August 9, 2017 6:30 PM Thursday, August 3, 2017 6:30 PM
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 6:30 PM Thursday, September 7, 2017 6:30 PM
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 6:30 PM Thursday, October 5, 2017 6:30 PM
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 6:30 PM Thursday, November 2, 2017 6:30 PM
Wednesday, December 13, 2017 6:30 PM Thursday, December 7, 2017 6:30 PM
Wednesday, January 10, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, January 4, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, February 1, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, March 1, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, April 5, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, May 9, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, May 3, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, June 13, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, June 7, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, July 11, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, July 5, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, August 2, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, September 6, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, October 4, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, November 1, 2018 6:30 PM
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 6:30 PM Thursday, December 6, 2018 6:30 PM

Whether you are new to Scouting or a seasoned Scouter, we are here to meet your training needs. The Sequoia Council offers a continuum of training for all experience levels. Trained leaders provide a quality, fun-filled program for Scouting units. When leaders understand Scouting, they are more effective in their roles.


Dates and registration details for Sequoia Council training courses are below:
In addition to the “in-person” training, Boy Scouts of America’s also offers a variety of online basic training courses are accessible from: http://my.scouting.org

1. In order to receive credit for the completion of any online training course a participant must enter their BSA Membership Number (recorded on their annual BSA Membership Card distributed by their primary unit’s committee chair, or contact the Sequoia Council Service Center @ (559) 320-2100. If a membership number is not recorded a participant will not receive credit for the online training.

Note: If you have questions about My.Scouting.org or need help with your account? Please contact the Sequoia Council Service Center.

Every Scout Deserves a Trained Leader

 

If you have a question, comment, or suggestion, please e-mail: Joseph Potthast